Priority Countries


The U.S. Agency for International Development's (USAID's) Health Systems Strengthening (HSS) efforts are focused on the Bureau for Global Health priority countries that account for the greatest share of the world's communicable disease burden and family planning needs and where health systems weaknesses create binding constraints on sustainable maternal and child survival. We allocate limited technical resources to countries graduating from development assistance and those fragile states recovering from severe shocks. The current primary geographical focus for HSS are the 25 Ending Preventable Child and Maternal Deaths (EPCMD) countries, the 32 AIDS-Free Generation priority countries, and 29 developing countries participating in the Global Health Security Agenda (includes overlap), collectively referred to as Global Health priority countries.


    HSS Focus Countries


    EPCMD Countries


View data list »

Related Sectors of Work